If I turn off read receipt on iMessage will it say delivered?
Sending a message on your iPhone, you will come across two options which are the iMessage and SMS text message.
For sms text message, you won’t receive a delivery report or read receipts while the case is quite different on iMessage as you will receive delivery report and read receipts.
Sometimes, we may not neccesarily like to have read receipts feature active and prefers to have it turned off.
This leads us to the question of the day.
If I turn off read receipt on iMessage will it say delivered?
The answer is yes. If you turn off read receipts on iMessage it will still say delivered as read receipts doesn’t affect delivery report on iMessage.
On iPhone or iMessage, you must see delivered which indicates or notify you that the recipient has received the sent message.
In a situation whereby you sent a message or iMessage to someone and it didn’t show delivered, it simply means that the recipient is yet to receive the message.
On iMessage, there’s no option to turn off or turn on delivered or delivery report as it is active by default.
On the other hand, you can decide to turn on or turn off read receipts on your iPhone.
Don’t Miss: what happens if you turn on read receipts after you read a message on whatsapp
Talking about if I turn off read receipt on iMessage will it say delivered, kindly note that read receipts and delivery reports are quite on iMessage.
For a better understanding, let me go ahead to explain read receipts and delivered on iMessage.
- Does turning off read receipts work both ways? Explained
- Will a text message say delivered if blocked? Explained
Understanding the read receipts
Read receipts is a feature on instant messaging apps and services which helps to notify a sender that a sent message has be opened and read by the recipient.
Without read receipts, you won’t be able to know if a recipient has opened and read a message. This makes read receipts to be very essential in messaging.
For read receipts to work, you must have it turned on and active on your iPhone.
Without the read receipts active on the recipient phone, you won’t be able to see a read receipts whenever you send a message to that very recipient.
Also, if you have read receipts turned off on your iPhone, your contacts won’t be able to see read receipts whenever they send messages to you using iMessage.
If you don’t want or fancy the other person to see if you have read their sent text message, kindly turn off read receipts on your iPhone.
By default, read receipts are enabled but you can go ahead and turn it off.
To do so;
Open the Settings Apps and scroll down to Messages.
Open Messages as shown in the picture above and you will see Messages settings.
Now scroll down a bit and you will see Send Read Receipts as shown below.
Now go ahead and turn off Send Read Receipts as shown in the above picture. Once you have done that, whenever people send a message to you using iMessage, they will never know if you have read the messages.
But remember, you will know if they have read your messages if you send messages to your contacts even when your read receipts is turned off.
This is quite different on whatsapp, Facebook messenger, signal, viber, etc, because once you turned off read receipts on your message app, your contacts won’t be able to see if you have read their messages.
Now, if you happen to send a message on your phone, you won’t be able to know or see if the recipient has read your message.
In order to see if the other person or recipient has read your message, you will have to enabled read receipts on your Messages app.
But the case is quite different on iMessage as read receipts don’t neccesarily work in both ways except for whatsapp and others.
- If i unblock someone on imessage what happens? Explained
- Does imessage deliver when the phone is dead? Answered
Understanding delivered on iPhone
Every iMessages must say delivered else you should know that the recipient haven’t received your messages.
On iPhone, delivery report is enabled by default and theirs no option to turn off delivery report for messages or iMessage.
If you send a message which was successfully sent and received by the recipient, below the sent text message you will see delivered which means that the message was successfully sent and delivered to the recipient.
Now it is left for the recipient to open and read the messages.
Once the person has opened the message, you will see read below the sent message.
That is to say, it will change from delivered to read.
But in a situation whereby the person turned off read receipts, it won’t show read. So you shouldn’t bother so much if you sent message showed delivered but didn’t show read.
Once a message shows delivered you’re good to go. Don’t worry if it didn’t show read as the recipient might have turned off read receipts on his or her phone.
Talking about if I turn off read receipt on iMessage will it say delivered, kindly note that the two Message features are quote different because you can turn off read receipts on iPhone or iMessage, but you can’t turn off delivery report as it is enabled on default and there’s no option to turn it on or turn it off.
How to tell if someone turned off read receipt iMessage
To know if someone turned off read receipts on iMessage, if a sent iMessage only showed delivered but didn’t show read after a long period of time, it indicates that the recipient turned off read receipts.
However, if it happens on multiple occasions then you should be rest assured that the recipient turned off read receipts on his or her iMessage.
Like I said, don’t be worried if a text never showed read because the recipient may have turned off read receipts on his or her message app.
You should only be worried if a text never showed delivered as in the case of sending iMessages because you may have been blocked by the recipient.
What does it look like when someone turns off read receipts?
The text will only showed delivered but wont show read below the sent message.
Below is a typical example of What it will look like when someone turns off read receipts on iMessage.
If you look at the sent message, it will only show delivered and will never show read as shown in the above picture.
Once you send a couple of iMessages to someone and it didn’t show read whilst the person replied to your texts, it means the person turned off read receipts on his or her iMessage.
Even if the person didn’t reply but the text never showed read, it could be due to the fact that read receipts is turned off.
In certain situations whereby someone read your messages in preview mode, it won’t show read and may confuse you thinking that the person turned off read receipts.
How do you make your iMessage say delivered instead of read?
You make your iMessage say delivered instead of read by simply turning off the read receipts feature or by reading the text in preview mode.
These are the two ways to read a message without triggering read receipts.
For me, I mostly use the preview mode instead of turning off read receipts on my iMessage.
The preview mode comes in handy if you use WhatsApp, Facebook messenger, viber, signal and others because if you turned off read receipts on any of these apps, you won’t see read receipts if you send a message to someone on your phone.
So the best thing to do is to read the messages using the preview mode and it works very well on iPhone and android phone.
Go through here to learn how to open and read a message without triggering read receipts.
What happens if you turn off read receipts?
If you turn off read receipts, people won’t know if you have opened and read their messages.
On whatsapp, Facebook messenger, telegram, viber, Signal, if you turn off read receipts on any of these apps it will affect the parties involved when it comes to sending a message.
This means that they won’t be able to see read receipts whenever they sent you a message, you as well won’t be able to see their read receipts whenever you send a message to your contacts.
On iMessage, the case is different.
If you turn off read receipts on iMessage, you will still be able to see their read receipts whenever you send a message to your contacts, but they won’t be able to see your read receipts.
Can someone read your message and it still say delivered?
The answer is yes and this will occur if the person turned off read receipts or read the messages in preview mode.
And this is where I come to the conclusion of the question being asked, if I turn off read receipt on iMessage will it say delivered.