Turning off read receipts feature is one of the ways to prevent a sender from knowing that his or her sent message has been read.
Since the introduction of instant messaging apps and services, we have the read receipts feature.
In this article, we’ll be looking at the question of the day and which what happens if you turn on read receipts after you read a message on whatsapp.
Read receipts is very much available on whatsapp and what will happen if you decide to turn on the feature after you must have opened and read a message on whatsapp.
This is our focus point and let’s proceed.
What happens if you turn on read receipts after you read a message on whatsApp?
If you turn on read receipts after you must have read a message on whatsapp, it won’t trigger read receipts for previous messages, but subsequent whatsapp messages will trigger read receipts.
On whatsapp, once a message has been received it will show or indicate two grey check ☑ icon on the sender whatsapp account or whatsapp chat.
If the recipient opens and read the message, it will automatically turn to blue which indicates that the message has been read by the recipient.
In a situation whereby read receipts is turned off, the grey check icons won’t turn to blue as it will remain grey in color.
However, as a recipient after you must have read the message on whatsapp, and turn on your whatsapp read receipts, the previous received whatsapp messages will still be grey in color on the sender’s whatsapp chat.
It will never turn to blue even after you must have enabled read receipts on your whatsapp account.
This is how whatsapp messenger works.
But subsequent whatsapp messages will turn to blue on the sender’s whatsapp chat or conversation, unless you turned off read receipts once again on your whatsapp account.
Kindly Note: If you turn off read receipts on your whatsapp account, you won’t be able to see other people’s read receipts once you send a message to them on whatsapp.
On your whatsapp account, you turned off the read receipts feature as you doing fancy your whatsapp friends to know if you have read the messages.
Now, as read receipts is turned off on your whatsapp account, if you go ahead to send a message to any of your whatsapp friends, it won’t show read or indicate the message has been read by showing a two blue check ✅ marks at your end.
You will see that the message you sent will only indicate two grey check mark and will never turn to blue.
You may think that the recipient haven’t read your whatsapp messages, but it is due to the fact that you turned off read receipts on your whatsapp account even if the recipient didn’t do so.
This means that on whatsapp, read receipts work both ways.
This means that if you turn off read receipts on your whatsapp account, you have also turned off read receipts on all your whatsapp friends as you won’t be able to see if they opened or read your whatsapp messages.
What to do
If you want to have read receipts turned off on your whatsapp account but still be able to see when someone reads your whatsapp messages, all you have to do is to turn on read receipts when sending a message whatsapp.
You can as well leave your read receipts enabled on your whatsapp account.
But, whenever you receive a whatsapp messages, don’t open the message.
Straight ahead open whatsapp messenger on your phone, tap on Settings to open and go to Privacy.
Right there in Privacy page, you will see Read Receipts, go ahead and turn it off on.
Once you have done that, go to the whatsapp messages you received and open it.
By doing so, it won’t trigger read receipts.
When you’re done reading the messages, go back and turn on read receipts on your whatsapp profile account.
This is the best way to use read receipts instead of completely turning it off and preventing yourself from knowing if someone has read your whatsapp messages.
Talking about what happens if you turn on read receipts after you read a message on whatsapp, kindly note that it won’t trigger read receipts for previous whatsapp messages.
But if you leave the read receipts on or enabled on your whatsapp account, subsequent whatsapp messages received on your whatsapp account will trigger read receipts.
What happens if you turn off read receipts after you read a message whatsapp
Subsequent whatsapp messages won’t trigger read receipts and you won’t be able to see read receipts whenever you send a message on whatsapp.
But older messages will still indicate read.
You can easily turn off read receipts on whatsapp, but remember that it will also affect you as whatsapp read receipts work both ways unlike on iMessage which works for just the person.
Don’t Miss: Does delivered mean read? Explained
For example, on iMessage, if you turn off read receipts on your iMessage or message app, you will still be able to receive read receipts or know if the recipient has opened and read your iMessages.
This simply means that on iMessage, read receipts doesn’t work in both ways but rather for a single person.
So you can turn off read receipts on your iMessage and still receive read receipts from your contacts whenever you send a message to them.
Can someone see if you turn on read receipts?
Someone can see if you have read receipts turned once their sent message triggered read receipts or showed read.
One of the ways to know if someone has read your message as long as instant messaging is involved is through read receipts.
Once a message showed read, it simply means that the recipient’s read receipts is on and active.
So definitely someone can see if you turn on read receipts on any instant messaging apps and services.
Can you turn on read receipts for certain contacts?
The answer is no. Read receipts works generally and not just for a particular person on your contact.
So far, there’s no instant messaging apps and services that allows read receipts for just a particular person, but rather it works for all contacts.
Maybe later in future we’ll have read receipts turned on or off for a certain contact or person in our phone.
But right now, you can’t turn on read receipts for just one person as it will trigger read receipts for all your contacts.
- If you block someone on whatsapp can they see old messages?
- If you block and then unblock someone on whatsapp will they know?
- When you block someone on whatsapp what do they see?
And this is where I come to the conclusion of the question being asked, what happens if you turn on read receipts after you read a message on Whatsapp. Kindly note that if you turn on read receipts after you must have read a message on whatsapp, it won’t indicate read or show two blue check marks.