Does imessage location show when you’re active?

iMessage location is one of the best means of checking someone current location especially if location sharing is set to indefinitely.

However, is not always we would want the other person be it a family member or friend to see our current location especially when we are active on iMessage.

For the fact that you are sharing location with someone on your iPhone, the person will seamlessly view your current location but it will be under certain circumstances and which I have explained in this article.

Does imessage location show when you’re active?

The answer is yes. iMessage do show location when you’re active but only if you are sharing location with the other person.

However, if you are not sharing location with you phone contacts, iMessage will never show your location even if you are active.

Aside from iMessage, once you are sharing location with someone on your iPhone, the person can view your current location using Find My App as long as location sharing and location services is enabled on your iPhone.

If your phone location services and share my location is disabled and you’re active on iMessage, no one will be able to view your current location until you enablelocation services and share my location on your iPhone.

Once you are sharing location with someone on your iPhone, all the person need to do in order to see your location is by opening the iMessage app or the find my app, open your conversation, view your profile and right there your location will be displayed.


Related Posts:


Don’t fancy someone seeing your location on iMessage?

If you are not comfortable with the other person seeing your current location on iMessage or find my app, you simply have to disable location services and share my location on your iPhone.

I don’t recommend stop sharing location with the person cause definitely they will be notified about that and which they won’t be happy about it for sure.

HOW TO DISABLE LOCATION SERVICES AND SHARE MY LOCATION ON IPHONE

To disable location services and share my location on your iPhone, open the settings app and scroll down to PRIVACY and tap to open it.

Right there you will see the first option and which is Location Services, kindly tap on it.

does imessage location show when you're active

On the next screen kindly disable location services.

You will see this message stating;

Location services will be disabled for all apps, but your personalized location services settings for apps will be temporarily restored if you use Find My iPhone to enable Lost Mode.

So you should go ahead and tap on the turn off button.

Next is to disable Share My Location on your iPhone, kindly tap on share my location to open the next page and on the next screen disable share my location just like on the picture below.

does imessage location show when you're active

Once you have turned off or disable share my location and location services on your iPhone or iPad, no one will be able to see your location anymore even when you are active on iMessage or your Apple device.

Does iMessage show when you look at their location?

No, iMessage doesn’t show or notify the other person when you look at their location. You shouldn’t bother yourself thinking thar the other person will know or iMessage will notifu the person thar you just view his or her location, such will never happen.

What iMessage does is to notify the person when you start sharing location with or her, and also stop sharing location with the person.

Does iMessage location update when you are on your phone?

iMessage location will only update when there is an active internet connection on your phone. If in the process of making a call or answering a call internet stop working on your phone, iMessage will not update your location.

iMessage will update location after every fifteen minute but mostly iMessage will update location once someone tries to view your location. Without internet connection on the phone, iMessage location will never update including find my iphone.

How do I know if my location is on?

On iPhone, to know if your location is on, you have to open the settings app and scroll down to privacy and open it.

On the next screen you will see Location Services, tap on it as well. Now on the next screen you will see location services and if it is enabled it green in color just like on the picture below.

does imessage location show when you're active

Once your location services is just like on the above picture, it simply means that your location is on.

Nexr is location Sharing.

Tap on Share My Location and on the next screen take a look at Share My Location and if the button is green in color, it simply means that your location sharing is enabled and those you are sharing location with can see your location.

How do you know if I am sharing my location?

First I want you to know that location sharing doesn’t occur on it’s own except when you manually share location with contacts on your Apple device.

There are ways to which to know if you are sharing location with contacts on your phone.

To know if you are sharing location on your phone, open the settings app and tap on your apple ID account.

Look down and you will see Find My, tap on it to open. On the next page you will see all the list of people that you are sharing locations with on your iPhone, iPad, or Apple device.

does imessage location show when you're active

All the contacts you are sharing with on your iPhone will be displayed on that very section.

Another way to know if you are sharing your location is to open the contact app or the iMessage and open any contacts or conversation on your phone.

Tap and view the person’s profile and right there it will indicate whether or not you are sharing location with the contact if it shows Stop Sharing My Location. 

How do you turn off location for iMessage without them knowing?

There is no way you can turn off location services or stop sharing location without the other person not being notified about it.

However, in order to prevent your location from seen from those you are sharing location with, kindly turn off location services or share my location on your iPhone. But remember once you turn off location services on your iPhone or iPad, you can’t see see other users location.

How long does sharing location until end of day?

End of day on location sharing end at midnight. For example, if you start sharing location with someone by 10am in the morning, immediately it gets to 12am the location sharing will end. 

So what I’m trying to say is that end of day location sharing ends at 12am.

When you Share your location on iPhone how long does it last?

Sharing location on iPhone last for one hour, until the end of the day and indefinitely.

Share location

To know how long sharing location will last, it depends on what you selected while sharing location with your contact.

SHARE FOT ONR HOUR: This will last for just an hour of sharing location with someone.

SHARE UNTIL THE END OF THE DAY: This type of location sharing will last until midnight.

SHARE INDEFINITELY: This type of location sharing will last until you stop sharing location with a contact on your phone.

When you share your location on iPhone

The answer is yes. When you share your location on iPhone it will automatically notify the person. Also if you stop sharing location with the person, he or she will also be notified about it.

If someone shares their location with me can they see mine?

If someone shares their location with you, they won’t be able to see your location until you start sharing location with the person as well.

But the truth is that when someone start sharing location with you, they will also expect you to start sharing location with him or her. In most cases if you didn’t start sharing location with the person, he or she might stop sharing location with you.

What does it mean when it says now on iphone location?

When it says now on iphone location it simply means the person is currently using the location app or online on find my app on it’s iPhone or Apple device.

Does imessage location show when you’re active? The answer is yes. iMessage do show location when you’re active but only if you are sharing location with the other person.

However, if you are not sharing location with you phone contacts, iMessage will never show your location even if you are active.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top