Does find my notify the other person when you stop sharing location? Answered

There are certain moments that you wouldn’t want someone you’re sharing your location with, to see your current location.

In most cases you may opt to stop sharing your location with the person.

However, you wouldn’t want the person to know about it, to know that you have stopped sharing your location with him or her.

This leads us to the question of the day, and which is does find my notify the other person when you stop sharing location.

In this very article, I will explain if find my will alert or notify the other person that you have stopped sharing your location with the person.

This question is very essential especially if the person is very close to you like your parents, spouse or someone you’re in a relationship with.

Now let’s proceed to it.

does find my notify the other person when you stop sharing location

Does find my notify the other person when you stop sharing location?

The answer is no. Find my doesn’t notify the other person if you stopped sharing your location with the person.

I will explain this article based on my findings using from IOS 16 update.

I know the reason why I said ios 16 update because apple made some changes in location sharing and location services features.

Previously or if you’re running on ios 15 below, if you stopped sharing your location with someone on your iPhone or iPad, it won’t notify the person on find my but rather it will notify the person on iMessage.

That is, if you happen to chat with the person on iMessage.

But since ios 16 update, if you stopped sharing your location with someone on find my or iMessage, the person won’t be notified about the changes.

This goes on to answer the question being asked does find my notify the other person when you stop sharing location, the answer is no because the person won’t be notified on find my or even on iMessage.

But the question is will the person later find out that you have stopped sharing your location with him or her?

The answer is yes, and below are the ways to know if someone stopped sharing their location with you;

  1. iMessage location or map not showing.
  2. It shows can see your location on Find My.

These are the two method or what’s to know if someone is stopped sharing location with you.

Irrespective of the fact that find my doesn’t notify the person, I tell you that the person will still know about it.


Don’t Miss:


Now let me explain the two methods.

1. iMessage location or map not showing

If you share your location with someone on your iPhone or iPad, be it on find my, iMessage, or from the contact app, you can be able to see the person’s location on iMessage.

You will see a map if you try to check the person’s information or details on iMessage.

Below is an example of what I’m saying.

does find my notify the other person when you stop sharing location

Once you try to check someone’s details or information on iMessage, and happen to see a map on the person’s contact information on iMessage as shown in the above picture, then you should know that the person is sharing location with you.

However, if it shows no map like in the picture below, then you should know that the person has stopped sharing location with you.

does find my notify the other person when you stop sharing location

Looking at the above picture you will see that there’s no map and which indicates that the contact is not sharing location with you.

So if you’re sharing your location with the person, kindly tap on Stop Sharing My Location to stop the person from tracking your location or seeing your location on Find My or iMessage.

2. It shows can see your location on Find My

Since ios 16 update, the second method to know if someone stopped sharing their location with you is when it says can see your location on Find My.

I’ve made a post explain what the term can see your location mean on find my and what you should do. So you head over to this very post of can see your location on Find My, to read about the topic as it is very essential to thir topic of the day on does find my notify the other person when you stop sharing location.

Once you stop sharing your location with someone on your iPhone, iPad, apple watch, or Mac, the person won’t be notified about it or find my alerting the person about the changes.

However, the person will still know once the person try to check your location on iMessage or find my and couldn’t, then it will trigger doubt in the person’s mind.

Instead of going ahead to stop sharing your location with someone who is very close to you, look at what you should do.

What to do instead of stop sharing location

  1. Turn off location services.
  2. Turn off share my location.

These are what you should do instead of stop sharing location with the contact.

1. Turn off location services

Once you turn off location services on your iPhone, iPad or Mac computer, no one will be able to track your location because tracking or map work with location services.

However, turning off location services may actually affect you as well because there are some apps that requires location services to work properly.

To turn off location services;

Open the Settings App on your iPhone or apple device. Scroll down to Privacy & Security and tap to open the option.

Turn off location services

In the next window, tap on Location Services. 

Another window will open and which you have to toggle off Location Services as shown in the picture below.

Turn off location services

Once you turn off location services on your iPhone, iPad or Mac, no one will be able to see your location on iMessage or find my.

If they try to check your location on Find My, what they will see will be No Location Found as shown below.

No location found

2. Turn off share my location

If you don’t want to turn off location services on your iPhone or iPad, you can simply turn off Share My Location.

Once you have share my location turned off on your apple device, no one will be able to see your location on Find My or iMessage.

To do, open the settings app, scroll down to Privacy & Security and open the option. 

Tap tap on Location services, and in the next window tap on Share My Location as shown below.

Turn off share my location

As the next window opens, you will see the option to turn off Share My Location. So please go ahead and turn off the option.

Turn off share my location

Once share my location is turned off on your iPhone, iPad and Mac if you have these apple gadgets, no one will be able to track you using find my or iMessage.

If they try to, it will show No Location Found.

So instead of stop sharing location with someone especially someone very close to you, I recommend you to simply turn off location services or share my location and you’re good to go.

How do you remove someone from Find My without notifying them?

Simply go to contact app, locate and open the contact, scroll down and tap on Stop Sharing my Location.

Once you tap on Stop Sharing my Location, it will stop sharing location with the contact and it will not notify the contact about the changes.

Changes being that you have stopped sharing location with the contact.

As long as your iPhone is running on ios 16 and above, the person will not be notified or get an alert that you have stopped sharing location with him or her.

Does Find My Friends notify the other person when you remove them? No, find my friends doesn’t notify them.

And this is where I come to the conclusion of today’s question of the day, does find my notify the other person when you stop sharing location.

           

I'm Kennedy Nora by name, a tech enthusiast who loves writing articles on tech tips and tutorials. My main focus is about mobile tech and gadgets.

    

Leave a Comment