If you delete a message on iMessage does it delete for the other person

Since the release of ios 16 update, iPhone users now have the option to unsend a message on imessage.

On iMessage, you will see varieties of options which includes delete button, undo send option, edit button and other options.

These options has their functions and they differ from one another.

Talking about if you delete a message on iMessage does it delete for the other person, kindly know that to delete a message on iMessage is quite different from on sending a message on iMessage.

In today’s article, we will be looking at the question of the day which is if you delete a message on iMessage does it delete for the other person or probably not.

Let’s proceed to that.

If you delete a message on iMessage does it delete for the other person

If you delete a message on iMessage does it delete for the other person?

The answer is no. If you delete a message on iMessage, it doesn’t delete for the other person unless you unsend a message on iMessage then it will be deleted on the other person’s iMessage.

Please know that delete button and undo send button are quite different on iMessage, as the two message features have different functions.

Now let me explain what the delete button does on iMessage and also the undo send feature. This will make you to understand if deleting a message on iMessage will delete it for the other person or probably not.

Don’t Miss: If imessage doesn’t say delivered can you delete it?

Deleting a message on iMessage

On iMessage, if you delete a message on your iMessage or iphone, you have only deleted the message on your iPhone, iPad or on any Apple device linked to your Apple ID.

On the recipients iMessage, the message you sent to the recipient will still be available as it won’t get deleted on the recipient phone.

This goes on to tell you that if you delete a message on iMessage, it won’t be deleted for the recipient or for the other person but only for you.

However, this is different if you tap on on the undo send button on iMessage.

Don’t Miss: If iMessage doesn’t say delivered am i blocked? Explained

Undo send feature

Since the release of ios 16 update, iPhone or Apple users now have the option to unsend a message thanks to the undo send feature on iMessage.

With the undo send feature on iMessage, you can easily unsend any message on your iPhone or Apple device. Even if the recipient has received and read the message, you can still unsend the message as long as they sent a message has not passed two minutes maximum time of unsending a message on iMessage.

So if you want to unsend a message on iMessage, you don’t have to tap on the delete button but rather you have to tap on the undo send button and this will automatically delete the message for the other person or unsend the message on the other person’s phone.

This is made available thanks to ios update.

Now let me show you how you can unsend a message on iMessage using your iPhone, iPad, or any other Apple device that support the use of iMessage.

To get started, open the message app on your iPhone or Apple device.

When you send a message on iMessage or iPhone, and which you want to unsend the message, simply press hold on the sent message and you’ll be presented with lots of options.

These options include the following;

  • Reply
  • Undo send
  • Edit
  • Copy
  • Translate
  • More

All you have to do is to tap on the Undo Send option as shown in the picture below.

If you delete a message on iMessage does it delete for the other person

Once you tapped on the undo send button, they sent iMessage will be deleted on your phone and on the other person’s phone as well.

Remember, you have just two minutes of unsending the message after you must have sent the iMessage or message.

Once it gets past the two minutes time frame, you can no longer unsend the message anymore. The only option you will see is the option to delete the message, and which doesn’t delete for the other person.

Also note that when you unsend a message on iMessage, the recipient will be notified of the changes you made or that you unsend a message.

Below is a typical example of what I’m talking about and that is, when you unsend a message on iMessage and how it will look on the recipients iMessage or message app.

Unsend iMessage

Also know that the undo send feature only works for iMessage as you cannot unsend an SMS text message which is green in color.

So talking about unsending a message on iPhone, kindly know that this is only available for iMessage.

Aside from the option to undo send a message, there is also another feature called the Edit feature.

Let me explain what the Edit feature do on iMessage.

The edit feature on iMessage

The edit feature on iMessage is another feature that was added to ios16 update on iPhone, as it allows you to edit a sent iMessage.

Even if the recipient has received, opened and read they sent iMessage, you can still edit the sent iMessage and have it resent to the recipient.

The recipients will be notified of the changes you made. Also on your side, you will be also notified that you have made changes to the sent iMessage.

Below is a typical example of what I’m talking about that is when you edit a message the other person will be notified about it.

Edit

As you can see in the above picture, below the last a message it showed edited which means that the sender edited the message.

Talking about if you delete a message on iMessage does it delete for the other person, kindly note that the message will only be deleted on your iPhone or Apple device.

But when you unsend a message on iMessage, it will be deleted for both parties involved.

This is how iMessage works especially since the release of ios 16 update.

Looking for how to delete messages on iMessage from both sides on iphone or imessage, simply use the undo send feature and it will unsend the message for both parties. 

If you only want to get rid of the message on your iPhone or Apple device, and not for the other person, simply tap on the delete button and the message will be deleted on your iPhone or Apple device.

If you delete a text on an iphone does it still send?

The straight answer is yes. If you delete a text on iPhone it will still get delivered to the recipient as long as the message was successfully sent to the recipient prior to you deleting the message afterwards.

Before coming up with the answer, I did a test using two iphones and iMessage.

I had to send a message to the other iPhone after which I deleted the message within a space of thirty seconds.

On the other phone, I turned off both internet and send as sms feature and waited for about a minute before I turned on Wi-Fi connection.

Immediately the phone was connected to the internet, all the deleted iMessages was delivered to this very phone.

This also goes on to answer the question of the day, if you delete a message on iMessage does it delete for the other person, and the straight answer is no.

As long as iMessage was active and which you have an active internet connection when sending the message, it will still get delivered to the recipient even if you have deleted the message.

But, it has a time duration.

iMessage will never get delivered if it gets up to 72 hours without the recipient having an active internet connection.

It it exceed more than 72 hours, the recipient will never receive the imessage anymore.

If you delete a message on imessage before it sends does it still send?

It won’t get delivered to the recipient as long as the message was not sent to the recipient.

But the question is,

How fast will you be in deleting the message.

Once you have an active internet connection and iMessage is active on your iPhone or Apple device, once you hit on the send button or icon, the message will be sent with a second.

It may be quite difficult to delete a message before it gets sent to the recipient unless you don’t have an active internet connection or your internet connection is very slow.

If you delete a message on imessage does it notify the other person?

It doesn’t notify the other person, but if you unsend a message on iMessage it will notify the other person.

Deleting a message is on iMessage is different from unending a message, if you delete a message on imessage, you have only deleted it for yourself.

But if you unsend a message on imessage, you have deleted the message or unsend the message for both parties involved.

And this is where I come to the conclusion of the question of the day, if you delete a message on iMessage does it delete for the other person.

Remember, unsending the message or using the undo send is the best way to delete a message for both parties on iMessage.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *