Now that you can unsend a text message on iPhone, the question being asked is can someone see if you unsend a message on imessage.
If you mistakenly send a text message and unsend it, will the other person see or know that you unsend a text message on iMessage or iPhone, this is the question of the day and what we will be looking at.
Can someone see if you unsend a message on iMessage?
The straight answer is yes. Someone will see if you unsend a message on imessage because on the other person’s iMessage, it will show unsent a message.
For example, you sent a text message to lizzy and realized that you shouldn’t supposed to send the text message to lizzy, you quickly unsend the text message. As long as lizzy received the sent text message from you, it will show Unsent a message.
Let’s say your name is Lucy, and that’s what lizzy used in saving your contact. It will show, Lucy unsent a message.
Once lizzy sees this on her iMessage conversation with you, this will indicate to lizzy that you sent an iMessage and unsend the text message.
For me, there’s no big deal in this compared to when you cannot unsend an iMessage or sent text messages on iMessage.
- Does imessage automatically save audio messages?
- Does imessage always say delivered? Everything explained
Below is a typical example of how it will look like.
Both on the sender and the recipient’s iMessage, the message will be displayed right there.
So talking about can someone see if you unsend a message on imessage? The answer is yes because it will be shown on the recipient iMessage.
Editing a text message on iMessage
Aside from to undo send text message on iMessage, you also have the option to edit a sent text message on iMessage.
This comes in handy if there’s a typo error and I love this feature so much as it is not yet available on whatsapp. You can easily edit a sent text message on iMessage and add extra texts to the message or correct a typo error.
Now the question is;
Will the recipient know that you edited a sent text message on iMessage?
The answer is yes. A recipient will know that you edited a message as on the recipient iMessage it will show Edited below the text message.
Beloe is an example of what the recipient will see if you edited a sent iMessage.
Both on the recipient iMessage and the sender’s iMessage it will show edited as shown in the above picture.
- Why are my iMessages green when texting another iPhone? Explained
- iMessage not working for one contact? Here’s why
When you delete an iMessage does the other person see it?
The answer is no. The other will never know if you delete an iMessage, but rather will know when you undo a sent text message or edited the text.
Since the introduction of ios 16 which let’s users undo a sent text message even when the recipient has received and opened the sent text message. Also the ability to edit a sent text message on iMessage.
However, there’s no feature that will let the other person know when you delete an iMessage except if you undo a text message on your iMessage or iPhone.
Once you tap on the Undo Send button, it will immediately delete the text message on your iMessage or your iPhone, and as well the recipient iPhone. But this will indicate or show Unsent text message on the recipient iMessage and the sender as well.
But to delete a text message on iMessage, the recipient or the other person will never know about it.
Again, since the release of ios 16 version, we have the Recently Deleted feature on iPhone.
This is like a trash bin on the android phone and I love the fact that Apple added it to ios 16. This means that if you delete a text message and be it iMessage or sms text message on your iPhone, it won’t be permanently deleted but rather will move into the Recently Deleted folder on your message app.
The temporary deleted text message will have a grace of 30 days to be in the folder until it will be permanently booted out from your phone.
I’m saying this for you to know that if you delete a text message on your iPhone, it will only be temporary deleted until you permanently get rid of the message from the recently deleted folder.
This is very lovely indeed just like the trash bin on google messages and I do hope that iPhone in general will have the trash bin for files and not just for text messages.
Does unsending a message on imessage delete it?
Unsendimg a message on iMessage will definitely delete the text message from the sender’s iMessage and the recipient iMessage as well. Both the sender and the recipient won’t see the text message anymore.
If you unsend a text message on your iPhone, the text message will be deleted but you won’t be able to see the text message in the Recently Deleted Folder.
Here, unsend means to take back the sent text message from your iPhone and as well as the recipient iPhone or iMessage. So kindly note that once you unsend a text message on iMessage, you have practically deleted the text message from your message app.
Unsending a text message on iPhone
To unsend a text message on iPhone or iMessage, kindly open the message app and locate the sent text message you want to unsend.
Press hold on the text message and you will see options listed for you and whicg includes Undo Send.
Go ahead and tap on Undo Send and immediately it will get rid of the sent text message on your iMessage and as well as the recipient iMessage.
Also note that even if the recipient has read the text message, you can still undo it. However, I noticed that after three of the recipient reading the text message, you can’t undo or unsend the text message as you won’t see the option again.
So if you know that you made a mistake by sending a text message to someone on your iPhone, you only have three minutes to make the necessary changes else there’s nothing you can do about it.
Does the other person get notified when you unsend a message?
The answer is yes. The other person will get notified when you unsend a message on iPhone or iMessage as on the recipient iMessage it will be displayed unsent a message.
This is the same with the question of the day, can someone see if you unsend a message on imessage. Kindly scroll up and you will see how it will be displayed on the recipient iMessage which in turn notifies the recipient that you unsend a text message.
Remember, unsending a text message on iPhone only works with iMessage as you cannot unsend sms text message that uses the cellular network service.
When you delete a text message does it delete for the other person?
If you delete a text message on iPhone it doesn’t delete for the other person except if you unsend the text message. Once you unsend a text message on iPhone, it will practically delete the text message both on the sender’s phone and the recipient phone.
Once again remember that this only work for iMessage as you cannot unsend an sms text message.
If you delete a text message on your iPhone, you only deleted the text message on your phone, but if you unsend a text on your iPhone, you have gotten rid of the text on your phone and the recipient’s. So if you want to get rid of a sent text message for you and for the other person, you will have to use the new ios 16 Undo Send feature and you’re good to go.
When you delete a message on iPhone does the other person still see it?
If you delete a message on iPhone, the other person will still see it but if you use the Undo send feature, the other won’t see the text message as it will be deleted from the recipient phone.
This is one of the best features of the ios 16 along with the option to edit a sent text message on iPhone.
iMessage is a lot better thanks to the ios 16 update that allows iMessage users to unsend a text message and also edit a sent text message. Aside from that, you now have the Recently Deleted feature in your message app and it works for both iMessage and SMS text message.
And this is where I wrap it on the question being asked, can someone see if you unsend a message on imessage. The simple answer is yes.